The tide is out in a small coastal inlay edged by palm trees. The dark sand is lapped at by water and we see blue sky overhead and big misty clouds rolling over a tree covered mountain.

Our new chair, environmentalist campaigner Dr Tony Juniper CBE

We’re delighted that Dr Tony Juniper CBE will be made our Chair of the Board of Trustees from 1st February 2023, succeeding Johan Eliasch.

Tony Juniper, Cool Earth Trustee

Tony Juniper on his visit to the Asháninka with Cool Earth in 2017.

Tony Juniper is Britain’s best-known environmental campaigner.

Having worked on efforts to conserve tropical forests around the world for nearly 30 years Tony has held roles including Director of Friends of the Earth, special advisor to His Majesty The King’s Rainforests Project and Director for Advocacy and Campaigns at WWF. Tony’s experience on the frontline fight to save the world’s most precious trees, plants and animals has inspired many to do the same.

His current role as Chair of Natural England means Tony balances preserving and rewilding UK’s nature with championing Earth’s rainforests and raising awareness on the importance of taking genuine environmental action.

Cool Earth has been chaired by extraordinarily committed people since the day it was launched. Tony maintains that tradition and brings expertise in conservation, communication and campaigning that are second to none. We’re delighted to have someone of his calibre in rainforest’s corner.
– Matthew Owen, Director, Cool Earth

Tony takes over from Johan Eliasch.

Tony’s role and responsibilities is currently taken care of by Johan Eliasch who has been Chair, or Co-Chair, for the last 15 years.

In 2007, together with British politician Frank Field (Lord Field of Birkenhead), Johan co-founded Cool Earth to disrupt existing outdated conservation models, put local and Indigenous people back in control of their rainforest.

In recognition of Johan’s incredible contributions to Cool Earth he will assume a new honorary role of President, as well as remaining on our board of trustees.