Faire un don Boutique
Aerial view of morning mist over tropical rainforest.

Notre équipe

La protection de la forêt tropicale est un défi qui nécessite des personnes incroyables. Nous sommes reconnaissants d'avoir une équipe créative, intelligente et engagée de cinquante personnes sur trois continents. Tous luttent contre la crise climatique aux côtés de nos supporters et des communautés de la forêt tropicale.

Haute direction

Matthew Owen

Directeur

Matthew Owen

En tant que directeur de Cool Earth, le leadership dynamique de Matthew a permis à notre organisation de se renforcer au cours des quinze dernières années, d'un partenariat communautaire au Pérou à quarante projets dans la forêt tropicale humide à travers le monde.

Avec une formation en développement et en analyse financière, Matthew est passionné par le travail avec les communautés de la forêt tropicale pour lutter contre le changement climatique. Son expérience le place dans une position unique pour inspirer et guider l'équipe de Cool Earth.

Dr Hannah Peck

Directeur adjoint

Dr Hannah Peck

Avec une expertise en écologie, conservation et développement des communautés rurales, Hannah dirige les politiques et la recherche à Cool Earth, parallèlement à son rôle de directrice adjointe. Travaillant directement avec les communautés et nos équipes dans le pays, elle est la responsable de la protection de notre organisation.

Spécialisée dans les questions environnementales, la biodiversité et la conservation, Hannah est titulaire d'un doctorat. spécialisé en écologie-zoologie de l'Imperial College de Londres.

Jules Wright

Gestionnaire principal, Programmes

Jules Wright

Avec une vaste expérience des voyages, de la vie et du travail à l'étranger pour un éventail d'ONG, Jules a acquis une combinaison unique de compétences et d'expérience dans les secteurs commercial et à but non lucratif et dirige notre équipe de programmes au Royaume-Uni, au Pérou et en Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée. .

Jules a un vif intérêt pour les droits de l'homme, une maîtrise en relations internationales et se passionne pour le développement d'équipes efficaces, l'amélioration organisationnelle et la gestion du changement.

 

 

Lauren Howard

Gestionnaire principal, collecte de fonds et engagement

Lauren Howard

Lauren dirige l'équipe de collecte de fonds et d'engagement chez Cool Earth, et collecter des fonds pour de bonnes causes a été sa chose préférée à faire depuis qu'elle se souvienne.

Au cours des quinze dernières années, elle a travaillé sur à peu près tous les flux de collecte de fonds dans le secteur caritatif, de la participation de masse aux cadeaux majeurs, en passant par la vente au détail à but non lucratif et les événements spéciaux - de Cornwall à Hong Kong.

La constitution et la direction d'équipes, le développement de marques et la croissance de nouvelles sources de revenus sont au cœur des préoccupations de Lauren. Lorsqu'elle en a le temps, Lauren aime rédiger des textes créatifs et développer de nouveaux produits de collecte de fonds.

L'équipe Cool Earth

De la surveillance des forêts et de la rédaction au développement de sites Web et à la culture du cacao, vous trouverez les membres de notre équipe travaillant au Pérou, en Cornouailles, en Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée et à Londres.

Ali Skeats

Programme Manager

Ali Skeats

Ali travaille dans la gestion de programmes à travers la Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée et nos partenariats de forêt tropicale avec une gamme d'ONG. Ses intérêts environnementaux se situent dans la conservation des espèces pour des écosystèmes sains, avec une spécialisation dans les oiseaux.

Avec une formation en conservation pratique et en recherche en laboratoire et sur le terrain, l'expérience d'Ali va de la fourniture d'un soutien pédagogique aux étudiants universitaires sur la conservation à l'écologie comportementale et au soutien de consultant pour les ONG internationales.

 

Ellie Vert

Coordonnateur des partenariats pour la forêt tropicale

Ellie Vert

Avec une formation en gestion environnementale communautaire et une maîtrise en environnement et développement, Ellie est parfaitement placée pour travailler avec notre réseau de partenariats de forêt tropicale avec des ONG sur le terrain.

Ellie s'intéresse vivement au chevauchement entre la gestion de l'environnement et les droits de l'homme et la justice.

 

 

Emilie Cooke

Designer

Emilie Cooke

Emily est une designer numérique avec plus de sept ans d'expérience dans l'industrie dans la création et la conception pour des marques, des organisations caritatives et des agences de création.

Passionnée par l'utilisation de ses compétences en design pour le bien et la lutte contre le changement climatique, Emily dirige le design chez Cool Earth.

 

Lauren Vyvyan

Responsable des partenariats commerciaux

Lauren Vyvyan

Avec plus d'une décennie d'expertise en collaboration avec des entreprises et des marques pour développer des partenariats percutants avec un objectif, Lauren dirige le développement de partenariats commerciaux stratégiques pour Cool Earth.

Lauren se consacre à la croissance d'initiatives environnementales réussies dans le secteur privé et s'engage à travailler aux côtés d'entreprises et d'individus inspirants et ambitieux qui s'efforcent d'influer sur un changement environnemental positif.

Défenseur passionné d'un mode de vie durable, Lauren dirige la certification de durabilité de Cool Earth avec des intérêts dans l'horticulture, le jardinage et la production alimentaire.

Lewis Gillingham

Producteur de marque et de contenu

Lewis Gillingham

Lewis gère l'équipe créative de Cool Earth en plus de créer des photographies et des films et travaille en étroite collaboration avec notre concepteur pour générer du contenu numérique pour notre organisation.

Producteur de contenu d'auto-prise de vue, comprenant des compétences spécialisées en caméra telles que l'utilisation de drones et la photographie en accéléré, Lewis s'efforce de créer du contenu axé sur l'histoire à travers de multiples barrières linguistiques conformément aux normes éthiques les plus élevées, et en rassemblant le tout dans le montage.

Diplômé en photographie d'histoire marine et naturelle, Lewis peut souvent être trouvé sur place avec un appareil photo à la main ou un drone au-dessus - que ce soit sur les plages de Cornouailles ou dans les forêts tropicales de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée.

Isabelle Felandro

Programme Manager

Isabelle Felandro

En tant que gestionnaire de programme chez Cool Earth, Isabel a dirigé l'équipe du Pérou sur des projets de conservation avec les communautés autochtones pour protéger la forêt amazonienne et soutenir le bien-être des gens en utilisant ses connaissances spécialisées en matière de politique et de droit environnementaux, de genre et de changement climatique.

Titulaire d'une maîtrise en politique environnementale de l'Université de Cambridge, Isabel a précédemment travaillé comme consultante juridique pour le gouvernement péruvien sur l'élaboration de politiques environnementales. Une autre expérience professionnelle comprend la consultation et le développement de recherches technico-juridiques pour des organisations internationales telles que le Programme des Nations Unies pour l'environnement (PNUE) sur les questions liées au genre et au changement climatique et avec le WCMC du PNUE et The Nature Conservancy (TNC) en se concentrant sur l'évaluation de l'impact environnemental et la biodiversité compense les réformes au Pérou et dans les pays d'Amérique latine.

Ses intérêts incluent l'action climatique et le développement durable, le genre et une approche communautaire de la conservation.

Clifford Yaee

Coordonnateur du suivi forestier

Clifford Yaee

L'amour de Clifford pour la conservation et la faune et le travail avec les gens pour protéger l'environnement ont commencé dans sa carrière précédente dans l'écotourisme.

Titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès sciences en biologie et d'une formation en enseignement, Clifford aime travailler avec les communautés locales pour atténuer le changement climatique et la dégradation des forêts grâce à la conservation, et résoudre les problèmes socio-économiques de la société par le développement de moyens de subsistance de base à partir de projets de conservation durable et d'écotourisme.

 

Louise Batty

Coordonnatrice de la collecte de fonds et de l'engagement

Louise Batty

Avec une formation en marketing et service client, Louise est une spécialiste du marketing numérique qui se concentre sur les médias sociaux, la collecte de fonds numérique et la vente au détail à but non lucratif.

Ayant grandi en Océanie, Louise a vécu directement les impacts du changement climatique et de l'élévation du niveau de la mer et a vu l'effet que cela a sur les gens et la planète, ce qui l'a amenée à travailler dans le secteur du climat.

Magda Pietà

Chargée des partenariats commerciaux

Magda Pietà

Magda a rejoint Cool Earth avec une formation en édition dans le secteur commercial et un sens aigu de la justice sociale. Elle s'occupe d'un large éventail de partenaires commerciaux chez Cool Earth, y compris des entreprises nationales, des start-ups indépendantes et des sociétés B certifiées utilisant les affaires comme une force pour le bien.

Elle est passionnée par la promotion de l'inclusivité dans le discours sur le changement climatique, convaincue que la vraie justice climatique signifie impliquer tout le monde, pas seulement les puissants et les privilégiés.

Catherine Mauch

Coordinateur de projet digital

Catherine Mauch

En tant que coordinatrice de projet numérique, Catherine reste occupée à gérer tous les projets numériques, des sites Web aux rebranding, et est responsable de la protection des données de Cool Earth.

Catherine est titulaire d'un diplôme de premier cycle en sciences de l'environnement et a précédemment géré des projets de reboisement et d'atténuation aux côtés du département des ressources naturelles de la ville de New York.

 

Lelebo Betuela

Coordinateur éco-entreprise

Lelebo Betuela

Lelebo a travaillé pendant huit ans en tant que responsable du développement commercial dans le secteur public, et dans les politiques et le plaidoyer dans le secteur privé, développant ses compétences et ses expériences en développement commercial, gestion de projet, formation en littératie financière, recherche, politique publique et plaidoyer.

En tant que coordinatrice d'éco-entreprise dans notre équipe de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, Lelebo travaille aux côtés des communautés pour être financièrement instruites et indépendantes et se consacre à la croissance et au développement de son peuple, de sa communauté et de sa province, en veillant à ce que les communautés de la forêt tropicale soient au cœur de tout ce qui elle fait.

Martin Simonneau

Programme Manager

Martin Simonneau

Martin travaille dans la gestion de programme dans plusieurs de nos projets avec des ONG et des communautés de forêt tropicale. Travailler avec des personnes marginalisées le pousse à rechercher des approches participatives de la conservation, du développement et de l'aide pour concevoir des relations de travail équitables entre les ONG et les personnes qu'elles soutiennent.

Ayant eu le privilège d'avoir vu les forêts tropicales humides d'Amérique centrale et du Sud et leurs peuples, son expérience comprend le travail dans le commerce équitable et la conservation et le développement dirigés par la communauté.

Les intérêts de Martin s'étendent de la justice environnementale et climatique; la diversité (et la complexité) des cultures humaines ; droits autochtones; activisme climatique et actualité.

Nog Sawdon

Responsable fiducies et philanthropie

Nog Sawdon

Avec une formation en relations internationales et médias et une décennie d'expérience dans la collecte de fonds, Nog Sawdon dirige les relations Trust & Foundation de Cool Earth et travaille sur une gamme de propositions de subventions et de donateurs, y compris des universités et des dons majeurs.

Elle est apte à comprendre les critères uniques de chaque organisation, à les aligner sur nos projets spécifiques, puis à les développer en partenariats à long terme mutuellement bénéfiques.

Shannon Kessell

Responsable dons individuels et engagement

Shannon Kessell

En tant que responsable des dons individuels et de l'engagement, Shannon est responsable du développement des programmes de dons individuels de Cool Earth.

Shannon a une formation en communication numérique, rédaction éditoriale et un diplôme en littérature anglaise de la Goldsmiths University. Lorsqu'elle ne s'occupe pas de nos donateurs, elle rédige des stratégies numériques et des textes convaincants pour la collecte de fonds.

Vivant près de la côte, Shannon est passionnée par la protection de nos océans, ainsi que de la forêt tropicale.

Sophie Smart

Directeur Finance

Sophie Smart

Avec une formation en comptabilité de gestion, gestion des opérations et assurances dans le secteur commercial, Sophie apporte une riche expérience à Cool Earth.

Lorsqu'elle ne fournit pas de rapports et d'analyses financiers à l'équipe de direction pour aider à conduire la stratégie future, Sophie travaille en étroite collaboration avec nos équipes de collecte de fonds et de programmes sur des informations financières basées sur les données afin de maximiser à la fois nos revenus et notre impact sur le terrain.

Matt Surveillant

Analyste d'impacts

Matt Surveillant

Amoureux de tout ce qui concerne les satellites et le codage, Matt travaille en étroite collaboration avec les communautés locales et autochtones pour combiner les connaissances traditionnelles avec la technologie et les mégadonnées, afin que nous puissions faire le meilleur travail possible pour décoloniser les données et protéger la forêt tropicale.

Avec une expérience à la fois sur le terrain et un travail stratégique de développement de logiciels de surveillance, une formation d'analyste dans le secteur commercial et un diplôme en mathématiques d'Exeter, Matt est parfaitement positionné pour diriger nos travaux de surveillance forestière.

 

 

 

Tom Carter

Copywriter

Tom Carter

En tant que rédacteur de Cool Earth, Tom est un penseur créatif spécialisé dans la rédaction, la pensée perturbatrice et l'articulation de grandes idées.

Lorsqu'il ne travaille pas sur nos dernières campagnes, Tom soutient notre équipe élargie avec la création de contenu et la rédaction de slogans qui tuent.

Ses intérêts environnementaux incluent le gaspillage alimentaire et la pauvreté alimentaire, les communications militantes et faire du bien aux marques.

 

Tory Kuria

Coordinateur de la conservation

Tory Kuria

Tory est un spécialiste senior de l'environnement et a plus de 19 ans d'expérience de travail pour le gouvernement, l'industrie et des organisations privées en Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée.

En tant que coordinateur de la conservation pour nos projets de Milne Bay, Tory travaille avec les communautés de la forêt tropicale pour protéger la forêt tropicale restante des pressions émergentes sur l'utilisation des terres, notamment le développement des plantations de palmiers à huile et les opérations d'exploitation forestière.

Son expertise comprend la restauration des paysages forestiers, la conservation et la gestion des écosystèmes menacés, l'engagement communautaire, l'amélioration des moyens de subsistance, l'évaluation de l'impact sur l'environnement (EIE), l'évaluation de la biodiversité, la gestion de la conformité environnementale, la gestion des espèces envahissantes et l'exploration et l'étude botaniques.

Au cours des cinq dernières années, Tory a travaillé avec la Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) en tant qu'écologiste forestier sur divers projets, notamment la création de huit pépinières forestières communautaires permanentes dans les quatre provinces des hauts plateaux de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée et la restauration de plus de 60 hectares. de forêt dégradée de montagne pour réduire de manière significative et manifeste la déforestation dans les montagnes Bismarck de Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée afin de renforcer les moyens de subsistance locaux et de conserver la diversité biologique et culturelle.

Tory est titulaire d'un baccalauréat ès sciences en foresterie et est actuellement un étudiant différé à la maîtrise en taxonomie végétale à l'Institut d'écologie et de biologie évolutive de l'Université nationale de Taiwan.

Donate

Our Team

Protecting rainforest is a challenge that needs incredible people. We’re grateful to have a creative, smart and committed team of fifty across three continents. All fighting the climate crisis alongside our supporters and rainforest communities.

Senior Leadership

Matthew Owen

Director

Matthew Owen

As Director of Cool Earth, Matthew’s dynamic leadership has led our organisation from strength to strength in the last fifteen years, from one community partnership in Peru to forty projects in tropical rainforest across the globe.

With a background in development and financial analysis, Matthew is passionate about working with rainforest communities to combat climate change. His experience makes him uniquely positioned to inspire and guide the Cool Earth team.

Dr. Hannah Peck

Deputy Director

Dr. Hannah Peck

With expertise in ecology, conservation, and rural community development, Hannah leads on policy and research at Cool Earth, alongside her role as Deputy Director. Working directly with communities and our in-country teams, she is the Safeguarding lead for our organisation.

Specialising in environmental issues, biodiversity, and conservation, Hannah has a Ph.D. focused in Ecology-Zoology from Imperial College London.

Sarb Remphry

Senior Manager, HR and Operations

Sarb Remphry

With over 20 years of HR experience, Sarb leads on HR and Operations for Cool Earth. With experience gained across the public sector and financial and professional services in change management, policy development and roll-out and managing end-to-end recruitment to name but a few.

Sarb is also our EDI champion, focused on embedding new and sustainable ways of working whilst driving an equitable, diverse, and inclusive organisational culture.

With a passion for human rights and global climate justice, Sarb is also involved in her local community, helping to protect green spaces from development.

Jules Wright

Senior Manager, Programmes

Jules Wright

With extensive experience of travelling, living and working internationally for a range of NGOs, Jules has gained a unique combination of skills and experience across the commercial and not-for-profit sectors and leads our programmes team across the UK, Peru and Papua New Guinea.

Jules has a keen interest in human rights, a Masters in International Relations and is passionate about developing effective teams, organisational improvement and change management.

 

 

Lauren Howard

Senior Manager, Fundraising and Engagement

Lauren Howard

Lauren leads the Fundraising and Engagement team at Cool Earth, and raising money for good causes has been her favourite thing to do ever since she can remember.

Over the last fifteen years, she has worked across pretty much every fundraising stream in the charity sector, from mass participation to major gifts, to not-for-profit retail and special events – from Cornwall to Hong Kong.

Building and leading teams, developing brands, and growing new income streams are Lauren’s core focus. When she gets the time, Lauren enjoys writing creative copy and developing new fundraising products.

The Cool Earth Team

From forest monitoring and copywriting to website development and cacao farming, you'll find our team members working across Peru, Cornwall, Papua New Guinea and London.

Ali Skeats

Programme Manager

Ali Skeats

Ali works in programme management across Papua New Guinea and our rainforest partnerships with a range of NGOs. Her environmental interests lie in species conservation for healthy ecosystems, with a specialism in birds.

With a background in practical conservation and lab and field research, Ali’s experience ranges from delivering teaching support for university students on conservation to behavioural ecology and consultant support for international NGOs.

 

Ellie Green

Rainforest Partnerships Coordinator

Ellie Green

With a background in community-based environmental management and an MSc in Environment and Development, Ellie is perfectly placed to work with our network of rainforest partnerships with NGOs on the ground.

Ellie has a keen interest in the overlap between environmental management and human rights and justice.

 

 

Natalie Gawor

Forest Impacts Manager

Natalie Gawor

Natalie leads Cool Earth’s monitoring and evaluation strategy development and implementation, with a focus on embedding learning and effectiveness in programme delivery, with specialist knowledge in conservation and development, consensus building and project management.

Previously, Natalie has coordinated research and business partnerships on agricultural technology innovation at the University of Exeter and South West Centre of Excellence in Satellite Applications and provided finance sector analysis on the Mekong and Zambezi river basins as a consultant for NGOs working on water quality and habitats.

With over 10 years professional experience working on environmental and sustainability issues spanning forests, agriculture, water, and transforming global commodity production and supply chains.

Natalie’s background is in human ecology, health and genetics having studied Human Sciences at UCL, with a Masters in Environment and Development and PG Cert in Earth Observation and Geoinformation Management from the University of Edinburgh.

Emily Cooke

Designer

Emily Cooke

Emily is a digital designer with over seven years of industry experience creating and designing for brands, charities, and creative agencies.

Passionate about using her design skills for good and fighting climate change, Emily leads on design at Cool Earth.

 

Lauren Faulkner

Business Partnerships Manager

Lauren Faulkner

With over a decade of expertise working with businesses and brands to develop impactful partnerships with purpose, Lauren leads on the development of partnerships for Cool Earth.

Lauren is dedicated to growing successful sustainability partnerships across the private sector and is committed to working alongside businesses and individuals who are striving to affect positive environmental change.

A passionate advocate for sustainable living, Lauren’s interests include horticulture, gardening, and growing food.

Lewis Gillingham

Brand and Content Producer

Lewis Gillingham

Lewis manages the creative team at Cool Earth alongside creating photography and film and works closely with our Designer to drive digital content for our organisation.

A self-shooting content producer, including specialist camera skills such as drone operation and timelapse photography, Lewis thrives on creating story-driven content through multiple language barriers in line with the highest ethical standards, and bringing it all together in the edit.

With a degree in Marine & Natural History Photography, Lewis can often be found on location with a camera in hand or drone up above – whether that be on the beaches of Cornwall or the rainforests of Papua New Guinea.

Isabel Felandro

Programme Manager

Isabel Felandro

As a programme manager at Cool Earth, Isabel lead’s the Peru team on conservation projects with indigenous communities to protect the Amazon rainforest and support people’s wellbeing using her specialist knowledge across environmental policy and law,  gender and climate change.

With an MPhil in Environmental Policy from Cambridge University, Isabel has previously worked as a legal consultant for the Peruvian government on developing environmental policies. Other work experience includes consulting and developing technical-legal research for international organizations such as the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) on issues related to gender and climate change and with the  UNEP WCMC and The Nature Conservancy (TNC) focusing on environmental impact assessment and biodiversity offsets reforms in Peru and Latin American countries.

Her interests include climate action and sustainable development, gender, and a community-led approach to conservation.

Clifford Yaee

Forest Monitoring Coordinator

Clifford Yaee

Clifford’s love of conservation and wildlife and working with people to protect the environment started in his previous career in ecotourism.

With a Bachelor of Science Degree in Biology and a background in teaching, Clifford enjoys working with local communities to mitigate climate change and forest degradation through conservation, and addressing socio-economic problems in society through basic livelihoods development from sustainable conservation and ecotourism projects.

 

Louise Batty

Fundraising and Engagement Coordinator

Louise Batty

With a background in marketing and customer service, Louise is a digital marketer with a focus on social media, digital fundraising, and not-for-profit retail.

Growing up in Oceania, Louise experienced the impacts of climate change and sea-level rise first hand and has seen the effect it has on people and the planet, which drew her to working in the climate sector.

Magda Pieta

Business Partnerships Coordinator

Magda Pieta

Magda joined Cool Earth with a background in publishing in the commercial sector and a keen sense of social justice. She looks after a diverse range of businesses partners at Cool Earth, including national companies, independent start-ups, and certified B Corporations using business as a force for good.

She has a passion for driving inclusivity within the climate change discourse, believing that true climate justice means engaging everyone, not only the powerful and privileged.

Catherine Mauch

Digital Project Coordinator

Catherine Mauch

As Digital Project Coordinator, Catherine stays busy managing all digitally-led projects from websites to rebrands and is responsible for Cool Earth’s data protection.

Catherine has an undergraduate degree in Environmental Science and previously managed reforestation and mitigation projects alongside New York City’s Natural Resource Department.

 

Lelebo Betuela

Eco-enterprise Coordinator

Lelebo Betuela

Lelebo worked for eight years as a business development officer in the public sector, and in policy and advocacy in the private sector developing her skills and experiences in business development, project management, financial literacy training, research, public policy & advocacy.

As an Eco-enterprise Coordinator in our Papua New Guinea team, Lelebo works alongside communities to be financially literate and independent and is dedicated to the growth and development of her people, community, and province, ensuring rainforest communities are at the heart of all that she does.

Martin Simonneau

Programme Manager

Martin Simonneau

Martin works in programme management across many of our projects with NGOs and rainforest communities. Working with marginalised people drives him to research participatory approaches to conservation, development and aid to design equal working relationships between NGOs and the people they back.

Having been privileged enough to have seen the rainforests of Central and South America and its peoples, his background includes working in fair trade and community-led conservation and development.

Martin’s interests span from environmental and climate justice; the diversity (and complexity) of human cultures; indigenous rights; climate activism and current affairs.

Nog Sawdon

Trusts and Philanthropy Manager

Nog Sawdon

With a background in International Relations and Media and a decade of fundraising experience, Nog Sawdon heads up Cool Earth’s Trust & Foundation relationships, and works on a a range of grant and donor proposals including Universities and major gifts.

She is adept at understanding each organisation’s unique criteria, aligning those with our specific projects and then developing them into mutually beneficial long-term partnerships.

Shannon Kessell

Individual Giving and Engagement Manager

Shannon Kessell

As our Individual Giving and Engagement Manager, Shannon is responsible for developing Cool Earth’s individual giving programmes.

Shannon has a background in digital communications, editorial copywriting and a degree in English Literature from Goldsmiths University. When she isn’t looking after our donors, she is writing digital strategies and compelling fundraising copy.

Living by the coast, Shannon has a passion for protecting our oceans, as well as rainforest.

Sophie Smart

Finance Manager

Sophie Smart

With a background in management accountancy, operations management and insurance across the commercial sector, Sophie brings a wealth of experience to Cool Earth.

When she’s not delivering financial reporting and analysis to the leadership team to help drive future strategy, Sophie works closely with our fundraising and programmes teams on data-driven financial insights to maximise both our income and our impact on the ground.

Matt Proctor

Impacts Analyst

Matt Proctor

With a love for all things satellites and coding, Matt works closely with local and indigenous communities to combine traditional knowledge with technology and big data, so we can do the best job possible to decolonise data and protect rainforest.

With experience both out in the field and strategic work developing monitoring software, a background as an analyst in the commercial sector and a degree in Maths from Exeter, Matt is perfectly positioned to lead on our forest monitoring work.

 

 

 

Tom Carter

Copywriter

Tom Carter

As Cool Earth’s Copywriter, Tom is a creative thinker specialising in copywriting, disruptive thinking, and articulating big ideas.

When he’s not working on our latest campaigns, Tom supports our wider team with content creation and writing killer taglines.

His environmental interests include food waste and food poverty, activist communications and making brands do good.

 

Tory Kuria

Conservation Coordinator

Tory Kuria

Tory is a senior environment specialist and has over 19 years experience working for government, industry and private organizations

in Papua New Guinea. As a Conservation Coordinator for our Milne Bay projects, Tory works with rainforest communities to protect the remaining rainforest from emerging land-use pressures including palm oil plantation development and logging operations.

His expertise includes Forest Landscape Restoration, Conservation and Management of Threatened Ecosystem, Community Engagement, Livelihood Improvement, Environment Impact Assessment (EIA), Biodiversity Assessment, Environmental Compliance Management, Invasive species Management and Botanical Exploration and study.

Over the last five years, Tory has worked with the Wildlife Conservation Society (WCS) as a Forest Ecologist on a variety of projects, including establishing eight permanent community forest nurseries throughout the four provinces in the highlands of Papua New Guinea and restoring over 60 hectares of montane degraded forest to significantly and demonstrably reduce deforestation in the Bismarck Mountains of Papua New Guinea to strengthen local livelihoods and conserve biological and cultural diversity.

Tory has a Bachelor of Science Degree in Forestry and is currently a deferred MSc student in Plant Taxonomy with the Institute of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at the National Taiwan University.